About

Hi there! My name is Joni and I am a “middle-end” web developer who loves to write code, commit often, and make up her own titles.

Details, please!

I work for the Web Services department at Georgetown University as a “Senior Javascript Front-End Developer” and live just outside of Washington DC. I have been writing code since the mid-1980s. I was 2. (Kidding. Mostly. Yes, I know I’m dating myself. Shush.)

I primarily write in HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but I work a lot in WordPress these days, so I spend a lot of time with PHP too.

Cool! What else?

My daughter and me

I am a single by choice mother to an amazing toddler who constantly keeps me on my toes. She and her collection of dinosaurs are going to take over the world.

I have hobbies. Stop laughing. I really do! I both run and bake, because life is all about balance. I love live music and try to get as many shows as time and babysitters allow. I pretend to knit, by which I mean that I have been working on the same shawl for about 5 years now. I am also learning to play the ukulele, but only when my daughter can’t hear me. My skills are not quite up to her standards (yet?). Just wait until I take up the bongos.

I love to travel. I have been lucky enough to visit parts of Europe and the Middle East. I have road tripped across a good chunk of the western US and day-hiked in Alaska. I have camped at the Falcon Ridge Folk Festival and the RPI hockey line. (Camping for college hockey tickets is almost like real camping, right?)

I love books! I love to read and have books in just about every room of my house. Unfortunately, my reading has dwindled post-baby, but I do keep track of what I read, in case you all are interested.